top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturehurricanekareenabo

Become Your Favorite Author



A ton of new writers struggle with finding their inner voice, including myself. When I first began writing, I tried my hardest to be unique by substituting every simple word with a complex one. Don't get me wrong, it's great to use big words to flourish in your text, but just like anything, too much is no good. When every other word is ostentatious, you have a problem.

Instead of attracting readers, I made my piece unreadable and repelled everyone like two of the same sides of a magnet.

There is a simple solution to finding a writing voice, and it may seem a bit unconventional at first, but trust me, it works. Don't be yourself, be your favorite author.

Picture your favorite author, the one that always manages to keep you in suspense with their writing. Now, think about how they do it. Do they use plot twists that you never see coming? What about diction? Tone?

Gather everything this writer does that you admire and write exactly as they do. Figure out what works for you and what doesn't as you write like them. It is only until we emulate one we admire that we become someone unique.

My favorite writer used to be Trina M Lee. Most people don't know who this is, but she's an author that writes a particular series 7th-grade-me was obsessed with, the Alexa O'Brien Huntress Series.

I applied this technique and began writing like her, and thus, we ended up with Blood Moon, which is now on my Inkitt, if you want to check it out.


I think this is something important to note when talking about my writing style. All of my favorite authors to date, like Flannery O'Connor, rely heavily on establishing complex characters, using sarcasm and irony, and developing multi-faceted relationships.

All of my favorite authors do not use tons of imagery. Well... maybe Flannery O'Connor does. Thus, I struggle with writing descriptions in my books. I also hate when writers describe what the main character is supposed to look like, so I usually don't have many descriptions of characters, either. I like to play pretend when I read. I am the MC, or I like to imagine what the MC looks like on her own.

In my writing, I've been told that my strongest writing attribute is my character development, and my weakest is my descriptions.

See, I can see everything perfectly in my head, but putting that to paper...

Considering all of this, I've been working on adding descriptions by googling a picture of whatever I want to describe and actually just describing the picture.

I'm not going to lie to you, I love reading imagery, but I sometimes skim over it because it isn't necessary to the plot. Some people think imagery is everything. It's personal preference, much like your writing style.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page